Home Breaking News NHS athletes’ achievements recognized

NHS athletes’ achievements recognized

TOP AWARDS. Nancy Worthington and Olivia Dean received the Scrapperette Award, and Kason Willard received the Scrapper Award at the NHS sports awards program May 23

By John R. Schirmer

News-Leader staff

Three Nashville High School athletes with a host of honors among them received the athletic program’s top honors Thursday, May 23, in the NHS cafeteria.

Nancy Worthington and Olivia Dean were co-winners of the Scrapperette Award, presented annually to the top female athlete at NHS.

Kason Willard was the recipient of the Scrapper Award, presented to the school’s top male athlete.

Worthington played golf and softball for the Scrapperettes. Dean played basketball and soccer.

Willard played on the football and baseball teams.

The honors were presented at the conclusion of the sports award program, which recognized NHS athletes in every sport except football. The Rotary Football Banquet was held in January.

Coaches introduced their athletes and recapped their seasons before handing out a number of awards.

Coach Mikayla Clift, cross country – Senior high girls most improved Jordan Scoggins, senior high girls top runner Katelyn Giddens, senior high boys most improved Enrique Bearden, senior high boys top runner Jonathan Perez, Scrapper Star Lauren Ferguson, Scrapper Star Leonel Hernandez

Coach Maddie McRae, tennis – Boys singles player of the year Gareth Perez, girls singles Rylee Backus, boys doubles team of the year Vaster Cooper and Colby Clay, girls doubles team of the year state champions Reese Worthington and Esmeralda Aguilar, Work Horse Award Colby Clay, most improved Rylee Backus, Rising Star girl Ava Basiliere, Rising Star boy Orfael Rosas

Coach Aaron Worthen, boys golf – Team was District 7-4A champion. Individual awards – Most improved Zeus Hutchinson; 7-4A All-Conference Manning Goff; Leadership Award Slade Slayton; 7-4A All-Conference, 7-4A District Medalist, Outstanding Male Golfer, 4A All-State Jett Stephenson

Coach Aaron Worthen, girls golf – Team was District 7-4A champion for the sixth year in a row. Individual awards – Most improved Harleigh Hill; 7-4A All-Conference, Newcomer of the Year Rayleigh Harmon; 7-4A District Medalist, 7-4A All-Conference Parker Tate; 7-4A All-Conference Macy McCammack; 7-4A All-Conference, 4A All-State, Outstanding Girls Golfer Nancy Worthington

Coach Vicki Cook, trap – Top 12th grade shooter, team captain Maddox Arnold; top overall male average, top ninth grade shooter, 100 straight targets hit Caney White; highest overall female shooter Kat Chambers; highest regional score Lucas Vilar

Coach Kailee Hamilton, cheer – Senior awards Addie Moorer, captain; Macy McCammack, co-captain; Lexy Elmore, Erin Watts, Janalyn Revels, Abby Furr; Rising Scrapper Star Madi Brinkman; Scrapper Spirit Jayla Hendrix

Coach Aaron Worthen, boys basketball – Newcomer of the Year John Taylor; 7-4A All-Conference, led the team in points per game, rebounds per game, assists per game, steals per game, three-point average, free throw percentage Demetrus Shelley; best assist to turnover ratio Channing Scott; second team All-Conference, highest two-point field goal percentage Kasen Morgan; defensive award Jordan Jones; Heart of a Scrapper Award, most charges taken Armahd Cornell; second team All-Conference, most free throws made Tayshaun Davis; 7-4A All-Conference, most three-pointers made Vaster Cooper

Coach Paul Dean, girls basketball – Team was 29-5, conference champions, regional tournament champions, second in Class 4A, seventh overall Scorebook Live rankings, in top 10 overall Arkansas Democrat-Gazette rankings. All-Conference, FCA All-Star Showdown, AAA All-Star Olivia Dean; All-Conference, FCA All-Star Showdown, All-State Tournament Team Aaliyah Hollins; All-State, ARBCA Top 5, All-Conference Caroline Dean; All-State, All-Conference Shalyn Lyle; All-Conference Jessie Lyle; All-Conference Lyris Bennett; All-Conference Lily Meraz; All-Conference Jasmine May; All-Conference Sofia McCauley

Coach Mikayla Clift, girls soccer – Offensive Player of the Year Olivia Dean; Defensive player of the Year Keytlyn Hernandez; top scorer Olivia Dean; most improved player Jordan Scoggins; newcomer award Ava Basiliere; Scrapperette Energy Award Allie Sartin; honorable mention Milagros Sanchez; honorable mention Angela Aguilera; 4A South All-Conference Olivia Dean; 4A South All-Conference Addie Moorer; 4A South All-Conference Keytlyn Hernandez, 4A South All-Conference Katelyn Giddens; 4A South All-Conference Jessica De La Sancha; 4A South All Conference Natalie Talley; 4A South All-State Keytlyn Hernandez; AAA All-Star, 4A South All-State Olivia Dean; AAA All-Tournament Ava Basiliere 

Coach Eric Perez, boys soccer – Offensive Player of the Year Enrique Bearden; Defensive Player of the Year Jose Perez; top scorer Alexis Brizo; most improved player Samuel Camacho; Scrapper Energy Award Fernando Perez; newcomer award Ivan De Los Santos; AAA All-Star, 4A South All-Conference Jose Perez; AAA All-Tournament, 4A All-Conference Ivan De Los Santos; 4A All-State Alexis Brizo, Enrique Bearden; 4A All-Conference Marco Sanchez, Juan Sanchez, Jonathan Perez, Fernando Perez, Luis Flores, Axel Wade, Arturo Perez; honorable mention Brayan Pacheco, Booz Vazquez

Coach Paul Dean, girls track – Betty Floyd Award Gimena Craven; Thrower of the Year Jasmine May; Runner of the Year Cheyayn Adams

Coach Kirby Adcock, boys track – Joe Lee Goodrum Award Roochie Wiley; Outstanding Springer Roochie Wiley; Outstanding Jumper Roochie Wiley; Outstanding Distance Seth Feltenberger; Outstanding Thrower Omrari Benson; All-District Rees Davis, Seth Feltenberger, Lucas Munch, Leo Hernandez, Phillip Longtime, Khaleel Bundy, Roochie Wiley, Myles Hawthorne, Omari Benson, Kasen Morgan

Coach Brian “Boomer” Brown, softball – Conference champions, regional champions. Terrific Trio seniors Emalea Bailey, Nancy Worthington and Emily Wallis; First Team All-District, most walks 10 Gabby Williams; First Team All_District, most outfield assists 5 Elli Wallis; First Team All-District, most walks 10, fewest strikeouts 0, most sacrifices 7 Rayleigh Harmon; First Team All-District, most home runs 4, best fielding percentage 1.000 Landyn Tompkins; First Team All-District Adison Moore; First Team All_District, most 2Bs 9, fewest strikeouts 0 Harleigh Hill; All-State, First Team All-District, Co-Defensive MVP, top batting average .440, most hits 35, most runs 27, most stolen bases 20, fewest walks 5, lowest ERA 1.37, lowest BAA percentage .190 Natalie Nolte; HM All State, First Team All-District, Co-Defensive MVP, Most IP 100.1, Most strikeouts 103 Nancy Worthington; All State, First Team All-District, Team MVP, Offensive MVP, Top OB percentage .500, most triples 2, most RBIs 23 Emalea Bailey

Coach Zac Stewart, baseball – Conference champions. All-Conference Mason Honea; All-Conference, newcomer of the year Hayden Gray; All-Conference, Defensive Player of the Year Kaleb Halter; All-Conference, Garrett Lance Teammate Award, most improved Slade Slayton; All-Conference, Pitcher of the Year, All-State Kason Willard; All-Conference, Offensive Player of the Year, Team MVP, All-State Karson Chambers

Previous articleObituary: James Larry Gilbert
Next articleState park to host annual Prospectors’ Gemboree June 15