Home Breaking News Nashville Fireman of the Year

Nashville Fireman of the Year

Lee Worley (right) accepts the 2023 Fireman of the Year Award during the Nashville Fire Department’s awards banquet. Making the presentation was Fire Marshal Justin Thornton.

The Nashville Fire Department’s Fireman of the Year for 2023 has been a member of the department since 2020. 

By the time he joined and completed his training at the Arkansas Fire Academy, his brother, Josh, had already won the honor twice.

Lee Worley received the honor.

Nashville firemen select the award recipient by a secret ballot. 

The firefighters are asked to write down on a piece of paper who is most deserving. There is only one round of voting.

At the recent annual awards banquet, Fire Marshal Justin Thornton described the 2023 winner as a real asset to the community.

Other recognition was a feature of the annual banquet.

Fireman Bobby Chambers received a 30-year service pin; and Jimmy Mixon retired with 28 years of service. Mixon’s retirement plaque was unusual — it was a replica of a fire axe.

Other awards included the following: 

Officers’ Choice Award – Nathan Hodges. The honoree is selected by the fire chief, assistant chief and captains.

Bryce Petty received the Attendance Award for attending most firecalls and drills.

Fire Marshal Thornton said, “We have a great group of firefighters.”

Since the Fireman of the Year Award was started, winners have been:

1987 Roy Blakely

1988 James Daniel

1989 Terry Ray

1990 James Dyer

1991 Cliff Petty

1992 Ronny Woods

1993 Jerry Harwell

1994 Cliff Petty

1995 Roy Blakely

1996 Jimmy Mixon

1997 Bobby Chambers

1998 Jimmy Mixon

1999 Joe Dallas

2000 Gary Funderburk

2001 Alfred Neeley

2002 Matt Smith

2003 Mike Kinkade

2004 Terry Ray

2005 Matt Smith

2006 Jeff Westfall

2007 Jeff Westfall

2008 Jimmy Mixon

2009 Jeff Westfall

2010 Jeff Westfall

2011 Jeff Westfall

2012 Josh Worley

2013 Josh Worley

2014 Russell Sparks

2015 Andrew Westfall

2016 Michael Staten

2017 Kenton Miller

2018 Michael Staten

2019 Kenton Miller

2020 Zachary Miller

2021 Kelly Hostetler

2022 Kelly Hostetler

2023 Lee Worley

Previous articleObituary: Imogene Spignard Frohnappel
Next articleNew year, new president for Nashville Chamber of Commerce