Home Breaking News Howard, Hempstead county farms inducted into century program

Howard, Hempstead county farms inducted into century program


Arkansas Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders was recently joined by Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture Wes Ward to induct 36 farms into the Arkansas Century Farm Program.

Howard County: Ponder Family Farm • Established 1907

The Arkansas Century Farm Program recognizes Arkansas farms of 10 acres or more owned by the same family for at least 100 years. The Arkansas Department of Agriculture established the program in 2012 to highlight the contributions of these families to the agriculture industry as well as our state. The program is voluntary and there is no cost for participating families.

Hempstead County: Phillips Family Farm • Established 1883

Agriculture is the largest industry in Arkansas and contributes more than $20.9 billion to the state’s economy annually. Arkansas has 41,900 farms and 96 percent are family owned.

“A country that can’t feed itself, fuel itself, and clothe itself can’t survive. That’s why it’s so important to thank and support our farmers,” said Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders. “[I was] honored to join the newest inductees to Arkansas’ Century Farm Program. These 36 families have farmed the same land for over a century.”

Currently, 604 farms recognized as Arkansas Century Farms throughout the state. The 36 newly inducted farms are located in the following counties: Arkansas, Carroll, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Dallas, Faulkner, Fulton, Greene, Hempstead, Howard, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Lee, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Perry, Randolph and Van Buren.

Previous articleLocal’s Arkansas diamond collection on display at Museum of the Red River
Next articleMine Creek Revelations: Read My Mind