Home Breaking News MS softball, baseball earns

MS softball, baseball earns

For the first time since 1991, the Mineral Springs Hornet baseball team has won the 7-1A District outright title by going 4-0 in conference play and 6-5 overall. The team will be the top seed headed into the upcoming district tournament at Mount Ida. The Hornets secured the title crown Friday with a 21-4 win over Kirby, who finished third in the conference. Hornet team members include (front from left) Aiden Dillard, Jayden Schaeffer, Keithan Smith, Jace Amerson, David Garcia, D’Kendrick Piggee, Amarion Maxwell; (back) Head Coach Ben Worthington, Decayveon White, Evan Erwin, Napoleon Walker, Katrevion Thomas, Keithen Dixon, Brandon Allen, Wesley Kuykendall and Coach Phillip Gentry. Coach Worthington was also named the conference's Coach of the Year.

After several years of struggling to field teams and complete seasons, the Mineral Springs Lady Hornets finished atop the 7-1A standings and will head into the district tournament at Mount Ida next week. Team members include (front from left0 Jordan Amerson, Zoey Lockeby, Ruthie Green, Shamachia Stuard, Amya Wooten; (back) coach Erik Thomas, Mahogani Trotter, Ashley Hernandez, Faith Johnson, Keiara Miller, Tania Watson, Saniya Gilliam, Dhamya Wright, Shannon Newton and coach Misty Smith. Coach Thomas was also named the conference’s Coach of the Year.

Previous articleFormer HMH pharmacist to showcase art at SWAAC gallery
Next articleCounselor picked for MES principal job