Home Breaking News Nashville Fireman of Year

Nashville Fireman of Year

Kelly Hostetler (right) accepts his award from Nashville Fire Marshal Justin Thornton.

One of the newer members of the department has been selected 2022 Fireman of the Year by his peers.

Kelly Hostetler, who joined the Nashville Fire Department in 2019 received the annual award during the department’s annual awards banquet. It was the second time for him to be chosen in his few years in the department.

The selection is made by a one-time secret ballot of all firemen. Nashville Fire Marshall Justin Thornton presented the award. “Kelly has shown great dedication to the department and to the community,” Thornton said.

Other awards included: a five-year service pin to Mathew Pinegar; the attendance award to Kelly Hostetler; the officers’ choice award went to Cole Reed. The latter award is by vote of the department captains, the assistant chief, and the chief, and based upon exemplary service to the department and to the community.

Since the Fireman of the Year Award was started, winners have been:

1987 Roy Blakely

1988 James Daniel

1989 Terry Ray

1990 James Dyer

1991 Cliff Petty

1992 Ronny Woods

1993 Jerry Harwell

1994 Cliff Petty

1995 Roy Blakely

1996 Jimmy Mixon

1997 Bobby Chambers

1998 Jimmy Mixon

1999 Joe Dallas

2000 Gary Funderburk

2001 Alfred Neeley

2002 Matt Smith

2003 Mike Kinkade

2004 Terry Ray

2005 Matt Smith

2006 Jeff Westfall

2007 Jeff Westfall

2008 Jimmy Mixon

2009 Jeff Westfall

2010 Jeff Westfall

2011 Jeff Westfall

2012 Josh Worley

2013 Josh Worley

2014 Russell Sparks

2015 Andrew Westfall

2016 Michael Staten

2017 Kenton Miller

2018 Michael Staten

2019 Kenton Miller

2020 Zachary Miller

2021 Kelly Hostetler

2022 Kelly Hostetler

Previous articleNashville native to be doctor at HMH
Next articleLocal players hit hoops milestone