Home Breaking News Nashville Chamber of Commerce seeks award nominations for Feb. 19 banquet

Nashville Chamber of Commerce seeks award nominations for Feb. 19 banquet


Area residents are invited to nominate persons for the annual Nashville Chamber of Commerce citizenship awards.

The awards will be presented at the chamber banquet set for Monday, Feb. 19., at the Nashville High School cafeteria. Doors open at 6 p.m., and the banquet begins at 6:30.

Tickets are $15 each, and tables for 6, 8, 10 or 12 may be reserved.

Awards to be presented include Man of the Year; Woman of the Year; Orange & Black Education Award; and Hometown Hero Award for community service.

Deadline to receive nominations is Friday, Feb. 9. Nominators should give reasons the person should be honored and include specifics. Nominations may be made by calling the chamber, 8870-845-1262, or by email to chamber@nashvillear.com.

Criteria for the Orange & Black Award are: (1) must be someone within education who does something outstanding for the community; or (2) someone from the community who does something outstanding for local education.

A committee made up of former winners will review nominations and make selections.

At the banquet, the previous year’s winners will present the plaques to the new honorees who are usually present not knowing they are to be honored.

The chamber of commerce began having an awards banquet in 1974. At first, the only award was Man of the Year. The first winner was the late Jay Toland, an insurance agent and school board member who volunteered to write grant applications for the city. He was named Man of the Year for 1973.

The only award was Man of the Year until Liz Bell was named 1975 Woman of the Year. Her award was actually called Citizen of the Decade, but it was later amended to Woman of the Year, and it has continued since that time.

First winners of the Orange & Black were the late Billy Laird and the undefeated Scrapper football state champions.

The late Edna Benson was the first black citizen to receive an award.

Man of the Year recipients include the following:

1973 Jay Toland

1974 Louis “Swampy” Graves

1975 Clayton Franklin

1976 John Reuther

1977 Larry Renard

1978 James Masey

1979 Deward Sharp

1980 Bobby Feemster

1981 Arthur Baker

1982 Roy Reaves

1983 David Pile

1984 Herschell Teague

1985 Mike Reese

1986 Dale Hart

1987 Mike McCann

1988 Dr. John Hearnsberger

1989 Joe H. Ball

1990 Donny & Ronny Woods

1991 Louie Graves

1992 Wendell Hoover

1993 Jess Young

1994 Norman Adamson

1995 Mike Kinkade

1996 Donnie Parrish

1997 Cliff Petty

1998 Roger Cox

1999 Ray Blakely

2000 Billy Hockaday

2001 Rev. Jim Polk

2002 Bo Castleberry

2003 J.B. Davis

2004 Gary Dan Futrell

2005 Dr. Glenn Lance

2006 James Reed

2007 Sen. Jim Hill

2008 Joe Dallas

2009 Bill Blakely

2010 Mark Canaday

2011 Randy White

2012 Sheriff Butch Morris

2013 Bob Cargile

2014 Freddie Horne

2015 Don Fletcher

2016 John R. Schirmer

2017 ????????

Woman of the Year recipients include the following:

1975 Liz Bell

1976 Jane Chesshir

1977 Mercedes Dildy

1978 Jane Graves

1979 Dot Tyndall

1980 Mary Power

1981 Junior Auxiliary

1982 Becky Steel

1983 Edna Benson

1984 Jo N. Howard

1985 Hospital Auxiliary

1986 Lossie Johnson

1987 Evelyn Cobb

1988 Verna Hockaday

1989 Sandy Steel

1990 Nobie Ann Williams

1991 Mabel Sanders

1992 Mary Lawrence

1993 Sandy Boone

1994 Deb Kinkade

1995 Neva Byrd

1996 Lou Jamison

1997 Carol Oliver

1998 Kaye Jones

1999 Dolly Henley

2000 Jimmie Jean White

2001 Freda Davis

2002 Becky Rockenbach

2003 Cay Teague

2004 Voncille Bullock

2005 Carolyn Ellis

2006 Dena Tollett

2007 Beverly Starr

2008 Sandra Jones

2009 Ruth Wilson

2010 Rose Ray

2011 Sheila Kreul

2012 Anna Blase

2013 Vivian Wright

2014 Kristi Vines

2015 Joan McCrary

2016 Gail Harris Hearnsberger

2017 ????????

Orange & Black Education Award recipients include the following:

1996 Coach Billy Laird and the

State Champion Scrappers

1997 John R. Schirmer

1998 Katie Wesche

1999 Edwin R. “Bob” Armil

2000 Anita Stuckey

2001 Tammie Elliott

2002 Dennis Horn

2003 Jr. & Sr. High FCCLA Classes

2004 Cheryl Power

2005 Gaye Graham

2006 Billy Dawson

2007 Johnny Wilson

2008 Becky Floyd

2009 Tammy Alexander

2010 LaDonna Curtis

2011 Paul Tollett

2012 Doug Graham

2013 James “Bunch” Nichols

2014 Reeder McCullough

2015 Joy Freel

2016 Stacia Petty

2017 ???????

All winners for 2017 will be announced at the annual chamber banquet Monday, Feb. 19, at the Nashville High School cafeteria.

Previous articleFlu numbers cause Kirby to call school for Friday, Jan. 26
Next articleGlenwood Herald – Feb. 1, 2018