Home Mount Ida Sports Lions earn win in home opener

Lions earn win in home opener


web basketball MI v Oden sb 4
MOUNT IDA – The Mount Ida Lions made the most of their home opener, defeating the Oden Timberwolves 56-31. The Junior Lions also defeated Oden 53-29 and the Lady Lions earned a 56-36 victory.
The Lions set a blistering pace in the first quarter with a 21-1 run. Oden was able to score 15 in the second, but Mount Ida added 21 to their total to take a 42-22 halftime lead. Mount Ida added five to their lead in the third with Oden finishing the game with an 8-2 run.
Cody Robertson led the Lions with 20 points, followed by TJ Wilson with 16. Ty Whisenhunt, Austin McAdoo and Anthony Spurling each scored six. Charles Ingram scored two.
Jeff Lewis led the Timberwolves with 11, followed by Matt Vincent with seven. Austin Bledsoe scored six, Tyler Fair scored five and Aaron Carmack and Will Monk each scored one.
In the senior girls game Mount Ida eased out to a 15-10 lead in the opening stanza and held a 30-23 lead at the half. The Lady Lions outscored Oden 26-13 in the second half to win the game by 20.
Lauren Wingfield led the Lady Lions with 19 points, followed by Mattie Fiorello with nine. Patty Anne Whisenhunt scored eight, Jordan Farmer scored six and Lyndsey Crutchfield scored five. Baylea Cannon and Kendra Burke each scored four and Pacey Dillard scored one.
Shelbie Kennedy led the Lady Timberwolves with 11, followed by Sara Black and Eden Singleton with 10 each. Hailee Elder and Katie Cox each scored two and Sabrina Shaw scored one.
The Junior Lions defeated the Junior Timberwolves 53-29.
Mount Ida jumped out front 18-7 and held a 28-13 half time lead. They outscored Oden 25-16 in the second half to win the game by 24.
Jonathan Lagrange scored the brunt of the points, totaling 24 to lead the Junior Lions. Cade Jackson and Todd Carr each scored seven and Gage Dyer scored four. Drew Allen scored three and Jorge Lopez and Colten Goss each scored two points.
Brandon Lewis led the Junior Timberwolves with 12, followed by Aaron Baker with eight. Jesse Fryar scored four, Brian Kha scored three and Zach Mayo scored two.