Home Breaking News Few contested races for Howard County; sheriff’s race on ballot in Pike...

Few contested races for Howard County; sheriff’s race on ballot in Pike County


By Louie Graves

Leader staff

Howard County Democrats suffered a heavy lick, in the past week, when 11 local, incumbent, elected officials “flipped” affiliation either to the Republican party or Independent when filing for re-election.

The flips resulted in only a few contested races, however.

Among those changing party affiliation or becoming independent were the Howard County judge, sheriff, treasurer and coroner; one newcomer to county office — county clerk; three members of the Howard County Quorum Court; and three Nashville aldermen.

In all, 13 candidates filed as Democrats; 12 as Republicans; and four as Independents in the filing period which ended Monday. The Preferential Primary Election for each party is in March of 2016

Candidates who filed included (*indicates incumbent):

County Judge – *Kevin Smith (R); no opponent.

County Clerk – Keri Teague (R); no opponent.

County Treasurer – *Sheri Mixon (R); no opponent.

Circuit Clerk – *Angie Lewis (D); no opponent.

Tax Assessor – *Debbie Teague (D); no opponent.

County Sheriff – *Bryan McJunkins (I); no opponent.

County Coroner – *John Gray (R); no opponent.

JP Dist. 1 – *Kerry Strasner (I); no opponent.

JP Dist. 2 – Gary Welch (R); *Archie W. Cothren (D).

JP Dist. 3 – *Richard ‘Dick’ Wakefield (R); no opponent.

JP. Dist. 4 – *Janice Huffman (I); no opponent.

JP Dist. 5 – *Jerry Harwell (R); Julie Tuck (D).

JP Dist. 6 – *Brent Pinkerton (I); no opponent.

JP Dist. 7 – *Martha Hobbs (D); no opponent.

JP Dist. 8. – Kirk Bell (D); no opponent.

JP Dist. 9 – *Bobby Don Turner (D); no opponent.

Two Democratic Party officials filed for the office of constable in townships. Alberta Motta (D) is seeking the office for Township 1; David E. Ray (D) and Andrew McCauley (R) are candidates for Township 3.

Nashville is the only municipality in the county in which city council candidates run as party candidates.

Four incumbent Nashville aldermen either “flipped” from Democrat to Republican or filed for the first time as a Republican. They are Matt Smith, Ward 1 Position1; Joe Hoen, W1 P2; Donna Harwell, W21 P1; and Carol Mitchell, W5 P2. None have opposition.

Democrat aldermen who filed for re-election included Nick Davis, W2 P2; Vivian Annie Wright, W3 P2; Andy Anderson, W6 P1; and Michael C. Milum, W6 P2.

Pike County

The closing of the filing period Monday in Pike County bought about a common occurrence – a contested race for the office of sheriff and collector.

Pike County Sheriff Charlie, 62, of Glenwood, who is seeking his sixth two-year term, filed for re-election as a Democrat. His opponent will be Roger “Bimbo” Flemens, 62, of Newhope, who filed as a Republican.

Pike County’s only other contested race is for the unpaid position of Mountain Township Constable. Incumbent Wade Coffman (D) will face Chris Thompson (D) on the upcoming ballot.

Candidates who filed included (*indicates incumbent):

County Judge – *Dewight Mack (D); no opponent

County Clerk – *Sandy Campbell (D), no opponent

Circuit Clerk – *Sabrina Williams (D); no opponent

Tax Assessor – *Rebecca Alden (D); no opponent

County Treasurer – *Loletia Rather (D); no opponent

County Coroner – Sonny Simmons (D); no opponent

Missouri Township Constable – *Ricky Branch (D); no opponent

JP Dist. 1 – *John Terrell (D); no opponent

JP Dist. 2 – *Robbie Crocker (D); no opponent

JP Dist. 3 – *Ricky Buck (D); no opponent

JP Dist. 4 – *Ed Jones (D); no opponent

JP Dist. 5 – *Jerry Fendley; no opponent

JP Dist. 6 – *Verl Stovall (R); no opponent

JP Dist. 7 – *David Sirmon (R); no opponent

JP Dist. 8 – Johnny Plyler (R); no opponent

JP Dist. 9 – *Paul Baker (D); no opponent

Previous articleSex crimes trial for local man delayed again
Next articleArky Road Trip: Amble mountain paths that encircle Camp Albert Pike