Pike County School Board positions go largely uncontested


    MURFREESBORO — TheBoard_of_Education_General_03_300 only new face in the Pike County School Board elections is Scott Maroon for Zone 3 in the South Pike County School District. Chris Sharp, who was originally appointed to the position did not file to run. Zone 3 is a 5-year position.
    Position 1 and Position 2, both three-year terms for the Kirby School District, will be retained by Darla Crump and Sean Deputy, respectively.
    Charles Swain will be Centerpoint School District’s Zone 4 representative to complete the term that ends in 2018.
    Kirby School District will be asking for a 1 mill increase in their school tax that will be dedicated to school buses.
    Elections will be held Tuesday, September 15. August 17 will be the last day to register to vote to be eligible to vote in this election and September 11 will be the last date to transfer voter registration from another county to be eligible to vote.
    The County Clerk’s office can be contacted at 870-285-2743 for more information.

    Previous articleBurel “John” Cass, 83, of Mineral Springs, passed away on Monday, July 20, 2015
    Next articleLady Trojans conquer camp